Skip To Main Content
Our Viewpoint Students Are the Future of Creativity as Recognized by the 2022 Scholastic Art & Writing Competition - 23 Students Honored with 30 Regional Awards

Congratulations to the outstanding fine artists and writers who won 8 Gold, 12 Silver, and 10 Honorable Mention Regional awards in The 2022 Scholastic Art & Writing Awards from the Alliance for Young Artists & Writers.

This year, the work of Viewpoint’s 8 Regional Gold Key winners will advance to the national level of competition for final judging, with the results announced in March. For over 20 years, Viewpoint’s art and writing students have gone on to receive Gold and Silver awards at the national level. Prior to the pandemic, every June, an awards ceremony was held for the national award-winning students and their teachers and families at Carnegie Hall in New York. This year the virtual ceremony will be held in June.

Established in 1923, The Scholastic Art & Writing competition is the most prestigious recognition program in writing and the visual arts for students in Seventh through Twelfth Grades in the United States. Young artists and writers are granted over $1,000,000 in scholarships and prizes. Nationally, more than 300,000 works of art and writing in 29 categories were submitted for review in 2022. Past winners include artists Andy Warhol, Cy Twombly, and John Baldessari; writers Sylvia Plath, Truman Capote, and Joyce Carol Oates; photographer Richard Avedon; actors Robert Redford, Alan Arkin, Lena Dunham, and John Lithgow; fashion designer Zac Posen; and filmmakers Ken Burns and Richard Linklater.

Viewpoint is proud of our 2022 Scholastic Award winners:                                                                                             


Allie Abemayor ’22 - Honorable Mention

Ashlee Ardalan ’23 - Silver Key

Zach Benjamin ’24 - Silver Key

Mia Brown ’23 - Honorable Mention

Jonathan Cao ’22 - Silver Key

Henry Didden ’22 - Gold Key

Jordan Garrison ’23 - Gold Key

Sarah Koesema ’22 - Silver Key, Gold Key

Lucy Landsbaum ’23 - Silver Key, Honorable Mention

Zach Marella ’23 - Honorable Mention

Edith Mendez ’23 - Gold Key

Randy Rubin’23 - Silver Key, Honorable Mention

Maximo Rusmeepongskul '23 - Gold Key


Emma Lindgren ’23 – Silver Key

Julia Iwahori ’22 – Silver Key

Painting, Drawing, and Illustration

Erin Beazley ’23 – Gold Key for Ink Drawing

Maya Frank ’22 – Gold Key for Ink Drawing

Alice Yurkov ’22 – Gold Key for Digital Image


Allie Abemayor ‘22, Silver Key for Poetry

Madeleine Case ‘22, Silver Key for Dramatic Script

William Cortez-Moore ‘22, Silver Key and Honorable Mention for Science Fiction and Fantasy, Honorable Mention for Poetry

Auggie Humphrey ’25, Honorable Mention for Humor

Lucy Landsbaum ’23, Honorable Mention for Poetry

Josefine Mar ’22, Silver Key for Short Story

Marissa Shurgot ’26, Honorable Mention for Poetry




More Stories